Антонио Бандерас - с награда за най-добра мъжка роля в Кан

26 May 2019


72-рото издание на Филмовия фестивал в Кан приключи вчера с обявяването на наградите от председателя на журито режисьора Алехандро Гонзалес Иняриту. Антонио Бандерас, награден за най-добра мъжка роля за участието си във филма на Педро Алмодовар "Болка и слава", посвети приза си на режисьора. "Хората си мислят - каза той, - че нашият живот минава на червения килим, а това не е истина. Ние страдаме много, правим жертви и във всеки актьор има много болка. Има и слава. И това е нощта на моята слава. Но най-хубавото тепърва предстои.” 

Наградата за най-добра женска роля получи британската актриса Емили Бичам за филма "Малкият Джо" на австрийската режисьорка Йесика Хауснер. Призът за режисура взеха братята Жан-Пиер и Люк Дарден за филма си "Малкия Ахмед". Златна камера беше присъдена на "Нуестрас мадрес" ("Нашите майки") на режисьора Сезар Диас. "Златна палма" спечели южнокорейският режисьор Бон Джун-хо за черната комедия "Паразит". Гран при на фестивала бе присъден на филма "Атлантик" на френската режисьорка от сенегалски произход Мати Диоп, първата чернокожа режисьорка, участвала в надпреварата във френския филмов фестивал.

"Клетниците" на Ладж Ли и "Бакурау" на бразилските режисьори Клебер Мендоса Фильо и Хулиано Дорнелес печелят наградата на журито.

"Портрет на младо огнено момиче" на френската режисьорка Селин Сиама спечели наградата за най-добър сценарий.



Presenting a tie for the jury prize — awarded to a pair of politically charged features, Ladj Ly’s “Les Misérables” and Kleber Mendonça Filho and Juliano Dornelles’ “Bacurau” — outspoken liberal filmmaker Michael Moore told the crowd, “Trump is the lie that enables more lying.”

Cannes favorites Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne — who have won the Palme d’Or twice before, as well as two other awards — took the best director prize for “Young Ahmed,” the portrait of a Muslim teenager living in modern Belgium who attempts to kill his teacher after being brainwashed by a radical imam.

French writer-director Céline Sciamma earned the screenplay award for “Portrait of a Lady on Fire,” a lesbian-themed period film that explores the notion of the female gaze, both now and throughout the tradition of Western art.


Elia Suleiman’s “It Must Be Heaven” earned a special mention from the jury. A droll commentary — from a director whose Jacques Tati-like screen persona hardly ever speaks — on his country’s troubles, as reflected through his travels to Paris and New York, Suleiman’s film was the rare comedy in this year’s competition.

Noting that most of their chosen films dealt with relevant sociopolitical themes, Iñárritu noted, “Art can sometimes see the future… I think that now cinema has an urgency of social consciousness expressed by different people around the world.” But he was quick to assert that artistic merit was the only consideration behind their selections: “We would not care about who directed, what country, what political message — that honestly should not matter as much as the film itself. The cinema has to speak by itself. These were cinematic decisions, not political agendas.”

Iñárritu presided over a jury that included French author-artist-director Enki Bilal, French director Robin Campillo, Senegalese actress-director Maimouna N’Diaye, American actress Elle Fanning, Greek director Yorgos Lanthimos, Polish director Paweł Pawlikowski, American director Kelly Reichardt, and Italian director Alice Rohrwacher.

The Camera d’Or, awarded by a special jury headed by Cambodian docmaker Rithy Panh to the best first film from among 26 debut features across all section of the festival, went to Guatemalan director Cesar Diaz. His drama “Our Mothers,” which premiered in Critics’ Week, focuses on an anthropologist looking for his father, after finding a clue amid the investigations into the country’s civil war.

The awards were immediately followed by a last screening, the world premiere of “The Intouchables” directors Olivier Nakache and Éric Toledano’s “The Specials,” a feel-good French studio comedy from Gaumont about two men dedicated to teaching young people with autism.



(Guy Lodge contributed to this report.)



Palme d’Or: “Parasite,” Bong Joon-ho


Grand Prix: “Atlantics,” Mati Diop


Director: Jean-Pierre and Luc Dardenne, “Young Ahmed”


Actor: Antonio Banderas, “Pain and Glory”


Actress: Emily Beecham, “Little Joe”


Jury Prize — TIE: “Les Misérables,” Ladj Ly; “Bacurau,” Kleber Mendonça Filho and Juliano Dornelles


Screenplay: Céline Sciamma, “Portrait of a Lady on Fire”


Special Mention: “It Must Be Heaven,” Elia Suleiman



Camera d’Or: “Our Mothers,” Cesar Diaz


Short Films Palme d’Or: “The Distance Between the Sky and Us,” Vasilis Kekatos


Short Films Special Mention: “Monster God,” Agustina San Martin


Golden Eye Documentary Prize: “For Sama”


Ecumenical Jury Prize: “Hidden Life,” Terrence Malick


Queer Palm: “Portrait of a Lady on Fire,” Céline Sciamma



Un Certain Regard Award: “The Invisible Life of Eurídice Gusmão,” Karim Aïnouz


Jury Prize: “Fire Will Come,” Oliver Laxe


Best Director: Kantemir Balagov, “Beanpole”


Best Performance: Chiara Mastroianni, “On a Magical Night”


Special Jury Prize: Albert Serra, “Liberté”


Special Jury Mention “Joan of Arc,” Bruno Dumont


Coup de Coeur Award: “A Brother’s Love,” Monia Chokri; “The Climb,” Michael Angelo Covino



Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: “An Easy Girl,” Rebecca Zlotowski


Europa Cinemas Label: “Alice and the Mayor,” Nicolas Parisier


Illy Short Film Award: “Stay Awake, Be Ready,” An Pham Thien



Nespresso Grand Prize: “I Lost My Body,” Jérémy Clapin


Society of Dramatic Authors and Composers Prize: César Díaz, “Our Mothers”


GAN Foundation Award for Distribution: The Jokers Films, French distributor for “Vivarium” by Lorcan Finnegan


Louis Roederer Foundation Rising Star Award: Ingvar E. Sigurðsson, “A White, White Day”



Leitz Cine Discovery Prize for Short Film: “She Runs,” Qiu Yang


Canal Plus Award for Short Film: “Ikki Illa Meint,” Andrias Høgenni



Competition: “It Must Be Heaven” (Elia Suleiman)


Un Certain Regard: “Beanpole” (Kantemir Balagov)


Directors’ Fortnight/Critics’ Week: “The Lighthouse” (Robert Eggers)



First Prize: “Mano a Mano,” Louise Courvoisier


Second Prize: “Hiéu,” Richard Van


Third Prize — TIE: “Ambience,” Wisam Al Jafari; “Duszyczka” (The Little Soul), Barbara Rupik